Wells Fargo Championship. Andrew Loupe Leads.

White Dragon GolfWells Fargo Championship

Andrew Loupe maintains his status at the top of the Wells Fargo Championship, and leads the tournament at Quail Hollow Club.

Loupe remains on top

Andrew Loupe / getty images

Andrew carded a -1 under par 71 to stay at the top of the Wells Fargo Championship at -8 under par. he used his long drives and good putting to full advantage, on a tough course;

“That’s a grown-man’s golf course.”

“They’re rolling off the putter face well.”

Robert Castro holds second place at -7 under par, following his second round -6 under par 66, he Eagled the par four last hole;

“I thought it might jump over the back of the green, but everybody’s arms went up, and that’s always a good sign.”

Third place belongs to Chesson Hadley, -5 under par 67 and Mark Hubbard,-4 under 68, both at -6 under par.

First round leader Steve Wheatcroft, Phil Mickelson and Ricky Fowler are in the large group at -5 under par.

In a strange occurrence Zac Blair got himself disqualified, for using a bent putter, he bent it by banging it against his head when missing a putt;

Zac Blair hit his putter on his head after a missed putt Friday, leading to a bent putter and a DQ. (Harry How/Getty Images)

“Going forward I’m going to do my best not to let my emotions get in the way on the golf course, and I’m going to learn from this mishap and move on.”

Rory McIlroy bogeyed the last two holes of the day to spoil a what was a good recovery from yesterday, he signed for a second round -3 under 69 for a total of -2 under par.

“Obviously not nice to finish the way I did with two bogeys, but the rest of the card looks pretty good.”

“I got it going around the middle of the round there, and a lot of shots of much better quality than I did yesterday. I feel like I improved from yesterday.”

“It’s a step in the right direction.”

His playing partner Rickie Fowler fared a little better, a -4 under par 68 today for a -5 under total;

“I’m in a good spot, I made a good par putt at the last to kind of keep me within reach.”

“Definitely going into tomorrow and see if we can get a bit closer and, I don’t know, maybe out front.”

“It just shows you how tough it was playing out there, no one really ran away.”

Leave a Reply

