Yokohama Tire LPGA Classic. So Yeon Ryu Leads.

White Dragon Golf

So Yeon Ryu leads the Yokohama Tire LPGA Classic in swirling winds at the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail in Alabama.

Yokohama Tire LPGA Classic

So Yeon Ryu / getty images

So Yeon shot a bogey free second round -7 under 65 to lead the Yokohama Tire LPGA Classic with a -9 under par total, and will take a two shot lead into the week-end. She said everything feels good;

“Actually even yesterday my shot was really great, but I couldn’t make a lot of putts, but today I pretty much made everything.”

“It was a bit windy, but we played with a lot of wind the last few weeks, so it wasn’t really like, you know, really big difference.”

” I think I was good at reading the wind as well, especially happy with having a bogey free round and having seven birdies under my belt really feels good.” 

Minjee Lee,  -2 under par 70 today, Ryann O’Toole, -5 under 67, and Morgan Pressel, -4 under 68 share second place at -7 under par.

Minjee spoke about the swirling winds, and how it affects the putting;

“I think the wind direction was a little bit different.”

” I feel like I had more, maybe crosswinds and not as many downwind holes, so it makes it a little more trickier, but, yeah, all in all, I think I played pretty solid.”

“Yeah, definitely in these conditions I think being patient is very important, but ‑‑ yeah, I mean, it’s not just like your shots, it’s also on the putting green.”

” You can miss a whole lot and you can make a whole lot, so just being patient. “

Laetitia Beck, who bogeyed the final hole for +1 over 73, Annie Park, -1 under 71  and Caroline Masson, -4 under 68, are all T5, at -6 under par.

Annie said she had played well in the conditions, but the putting was difficult;

“Shots were great, putts weren’t really falling, so I had some really good shots but then left some putts out there, but there were some trees and some fast putts out, but, I mean, overall it was actually not;  it was pretty good out there.”

 

Leave a Reply

