Buick Championship. Three Ladies Tied at the Top.

White Dragon GolfBuick Championship

There are three ladies tied at the top of the Buick Championship leaderboard,  Melissa Reid, Becky Morgan and Nicole Garcia

Buick Championship

Melissa Reid / getty images

ENG Melissa, WAL Becky and RSANicole all recorded first rounds of -4 under par 68, to lead the Buick Championship at Shanghai Qizhong Garden Golf Club, in China.

Melissa had a strange up and down day, carding seven birdies and three bogey’s, she put it down to jet-lag, but her putter was working;

“I actually felt a little bit uncomfortable out there, it was weird, but I tried to play every shot quite clear and I’m very happy with my 68.”

“I think I’m a little bit jet lagged since I only got here yesterday but my goal today was to have clarity on every single shot and I felt like I did that quite well.”

“I backed off a couple of shots, which was good and got the putter going.”

“I missed a couple of short putts coming in but overall I’m satisfied. I woke up at 4am so I was asleep at 8.30pm last night because of jet-lag. It’s the way forward.”

Becky said she is not a long hitter, but her putter was working as well;

“I hit a lot of good shots but I did hole some good putts on the back.”

“Hole 10 was playing really long for me and I holed a 35 footer on 10, then 11 from 20 feet and on the par fives I hit it close: tap-in on one of them and six feet on the other.”

Seventeen I birdied and I had a good chance on 16 that I missed from eight feet, so it was a solid back nine. I think I missed one green, so it was good.”

“I like the golf courses here but I’m not generally a huge fan of Asian golf courses on the LPGA Tour.”

” I played okay but it was playing long for me because I’m not one of the longer hitters.”

“I was hitting hybrids into some of the par fours but hit good shots.”

Nicole has changed to the feeble Claw Grip on her putter,

“I haven’t shot under par for a long time so I’m really happy.”

” I haven’t been putting well lately but today it was better and I was at least starting it on line.”

“I think on these greens, if you hit it on line, it’s going to go in. I’ve been working really hard on my putting and it’s only starting to get better now. I had 29 putts today.

“I wasn’t keen to go to the claw because I always thought that’s for people that struggle, but I was struggling!”

“I struggled with the pace in Morocco so when I got here all I did was pace putts, which I think really helped.”

Eight ladies are tied in fourth place, all at -3 under par for the tournament.

 

Leave a Reply

