The Players. Jason Jogging Along in Suspended Second Round

White Dragon Golf

Jason Day is jogging along in his suspended second round, of The Players, the weather once again causing havoc.

Day makes the most of Friday

World number one Jason is -5 under par through 14 holes of his second round, still topping The Players leaderboard, at 14 under par, a three shot lead over his nearest rival.

Play was suspended due to darkness, after a lengthy delay because of a lightning storm that passed over the course.

Although a three shot lead is fairly healthy at this point in time Jason wants to keep pushing;

“I need to keep pushing forward.”

“The moment that I lose a little bit of focus and make a few mental errors and mistakes, that’s when I let the field back in.”

“I just can’t afford to do that.”

“I feel good about how I’m going about my game, but I just have to understand that this is like a major, and especially with 16, 17 and 18, anything can happen there.”

 “I have to make sure that I’m switched on when I come through that stretch.”

Shane Lowry is in second place at -11 under par, with a completed round of -4 under par 68 today, he came here with no expectations, relaxed and is playing good golf;

“Sometimes low expectations brings good results and high expectations brings no results.”

 “It’s a funny game.”

“I would say the 17th  kind of got the round going. It felt a little flat and a little tense, and to roll that in for bogey and then eagle 18, it kind of kick-started my round.”

“It was always close in the air, so it was nice to see it going in.”

“I was on the eighth there and had a long putt for par, and I knew I’d like to be in the last group with him tomorrow.”

“You can really learn from him in those situations. It will be nice to go out in the last group with him tomorrow and see what I can do.”

Jonas Blixt, -5 under 67 completed second round, Alex Cejka -5 under 67 completed and Cameron Tringale a completed second of -3 under 69 are four shots off the pace, at the moment, with -10 under totals.

The projected cut is -2 under par, and if it stays that way, defending Champion Rickie Fowler will be on the way home, along with Phil Mickelson, Danny Willett, Luke Donald and Jordan Spieth, who are all in the large group at -1 under par.

2 thoughts on “The Players. Jason Jogging Along in Suspended Second Round

  1. Pete, it was difficult watching Phil MIckelson bumble around on the 15th hole, missing an easy shot from the fairway and then a simple greenside chip. It’s probably not fair to pick on any golfer’s results during a single round, but he never used to do that and has started to show the inability to play great over extended durations which is required for winning. He’ll be 46 in June and it looks like father time is catching up. Hoping he can catch lightning in a bottle for one more moment of greatness, although it won’t be this week.

    Thanks,

    Brian

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

