The Players. Rory Roars Into Life.

White Dragon Golf

2nd round play has been suspended due to bad weather in the area, hopefully it will resume soon.

McIlroy flirts with course record

In the morning round Rory McIlroy roared into life, and The Players tournament today, he should have had the TPC Sawgrass course record, needing a birdie on his last hole of the day, the par 5 ninth, for -10 under. Unfortunately he made bogey and had to settle for -8 under par 64, to add to his even par round yesterday;

“Maybe if I had the five wood in the bag, I might have went for it, because at least I could have gotten a little bit more height.”

“But I was thinking about the course record, I wanted to make birdie and shoot 62. There’s no doubt about that.”

“Any time I’ve gone for the ninth green in two here, it’s never really worked out for me, I sort of talked myself out of it on the fairway.”

“This course really does play so much differently from morning to afternoon.”

“I felt the greens getting a little firmer, the wind gets up a little bit, so you have to take advantage of your tee time in the morning.”

“Thankfully, I was able to do that today with a low one.”

“I’m frustrated, my score should have been a couple better.”

“I’m disappointed, but there’s still two more days to go. That’s the nice thing. I’m in a good position heading into the weekend.”

Leave a Reply

