Buick Championship. Shanshan & Na Yeon Locked Together at the Top.

White Dragon GolfBuick Championship Defending Champion Shanshan Feng and Na Yeon Choi are still locked together at the top of the Buick Championship leaderboard, in China.

Buick Championship

Shanshan Feng / getty images

Shanshan and Na Yeon both carded the same score of -2 under par 70 in the third round of the Buick Championship, to stay at the top of the leaderboard at -9 under par.

Shanshan was really happy with her round today;

“I had a bit of a rough start because I was nervous to be honest at the beginning, being the defending champion, playing back in China and this is my sponsor’s event, so I do have a lot of pressure.”

“After two holes, I was like, ‘You know what? I’ve done well for the first two days and so why not just do the same thing, just focus on every shot,’ and I came back slowly.”

“I made a good back nine and I’m happy about the result.”

Na Yeon was leading until a bogey at the last hole, which she put down to tiredness;

“I think I played really well, especially on the front nine. I had three birdies out there and without a bogey.”

“I think I was a little tired on the back nine.”

Beth Allen is in third place, a -1 under 71 today keeping her in touch with the leaders at -7 under par. She was also happy with her effort in the tough conditions;

“It was a solid day with tough conditions, and a completely different wind to yesterday.”

“It was tricky.”

 Florentyna Parker from England, who led for the first three rounds of the Lalla Meryem Cup last week is in fifth position at -6 under par, a third round -1 under 71 keeps her in the mix.

Heavy rain and winds gusting up to 30 miles per hour are predicted for Sunday’s final round, so just about anything could happen here, looking forward to it.

 

Leave a Reply

