AfrAsia Bank Mauritius Open. Jeunghun Wang Wins Again.

White Dragon Golf Jeunghun Wang wins again as he picked up the AfrAsia Bank Mauritius Open trophy a week after his maiden victory.

 AfrAsia Bank Mauritius Open

Jeunghun Wang / getty images

KOR Jeunghun was involved in a Titanic struggle with BAN Siddikur Rahman, being tied at the top of the  AfrAsia Bank Mauritius Open leaderboard coming down the last fairway, but he birdied the 18th to claim back to back wins. A final round of even par 72 gave him the winning total of -6 under par.

This win gives Jeunghun the distinction of being the first player to win in consecutive weeks since Rory McIlroy claimed the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational followed by the US PGA Championship in 2014, and he also becomes the first Asian player to win in consecutive weeks;

 AfrAsia Bank Mauritius Open

Jeunghun Wang / getty images

“I can’t believe that I’ve won two weeks in a row. I’m so excited right now and really happy that I have won.”

“I hope I can win three in a row, but next week is a really big tournament and it’s my first time in Ireland, so I’m not sure. I’ll be trying my best.”

“I probably had luck on my side today. I wasn’t even thinking about winning this week until the 16th.”

“I missed a lot of putts so I thought I didn’t have any chance to win.”

On another tough day at Four Seasons Golf ClubSiddikur sadly carded a final round +2 over par to miss his chance of a maiden Tour win, finishing second with a -5 under par total.

Tied in third place at even par were  ARG Estanislao Goya, a last round -1 under par 71 was good enough to move him up the leaderboard,  as everyone else went backwards including BEL Nicolas Colsaerts who signed for a wild +3 over par 75, which contained an eagle and three double-bogeys leaving him also at par for the competition, tied in third.

 Andrew  Dodt carded a last round +4 over 76 left him in fifth place, a shot clear of Brandon Stone +2 over 74 today.

Rahil Gangjee, Richard McEvoy, Ross McGowan, Terry Pilkadaris and Jason Scrivener were then all at +3 over for the tournament.

Leave a Reply

