The Players. Jason Day Delivers.

White Dragon Golf

Jason Day delivers the result of a World number one, a win at The Players at TPC Sawgrass.

Day wins THE PLAYERS

              Jason Day / getty images

Jason had a final round -1 under par 71 to post a winning total of -15 under par at The Players, for a comfortable four shot victory.

Jason had his troubles on the round, on the par 5 ninth,  duffing three chips out of the Bermudagrass rough, and had to hole a 6-foot putt just to save bogey;

“I felt like an amateur chopping my way to the pin from only 10 yards off the green.”

 “If I walk away with a double-bogey there, that gives my pursuers a boost of energy, a boost of momentum.”

“Once I got to 10, I kind of said to myself, ‘You’re still in the game, you’ve still got the lead.”

“You’re still in good shape.”

“Once I holed the birdie putt, that kind of settled everything down, then I could kind of relax and go about my way.”

“I’m sitting there going, don’t choke, that would be the worst thing in the world, everyone would be talking about it.”

“Things like that go through your mind. They go through your mind out there on the front nine.”

“It did, it really went through my mind. I just kept on saying to myself,  just settle down.”

“Tiger says he’s going to kick my butt when he comes back, so I’m going to try and extend that gap.”

Kevin Chappell finished in second place, a last round -3 under par moving him up the leaderboard, finishing with a -11 under par total;

“I’m really proud of the way I hung in there, I was 2 over par through 26 holes and really fought hard to make the cut.”

“To hang in there today after a slower start, I’m real proud of myself.”

“It kind of mirrored my week, slow start, and really fought there in the middle of the round to salvage it, and then I finished strong, which is nice.”

Tied in third place at -10 under par were Justin Thomas, -7 under 67 today, Matt Kuchar, -4 under 68, Colt Knost -3 under 69, and long time challenger to the leader Ken Duke, who stalled on the last round signing for an even par 72.

The tough conditions were the same for everybody, only the World number one Jason Day was able to cope with them sufficiently.

 

Leave a Reply

