AT&T Byron Nelson. Sergio, Danny and Johnson Lead Suspended 1st Round

White Dragon GolfAT&T Byron Nelson

Sergio Garcia, Danny Lee and Johnson Wagner lead the suspended 1st round of the AT&T Byron Nelson

Déjà vu for Garcia at AT&T Byron Nelson

Sergio Garcia / getty images

Sergio carded a first round -7 under par 63, along with Danny and Johnson  at the AT&T Byron Nelson, as darkness brought the opening round to a close, an early long rain delay the culprit.

Sergio said he likes the Lone Star State of Texas, and he has been playing decent golf lately;

“Texas has always been good to me.”

“I’ve done fairly well pretty much every time I played here.  It just kind of brings me to my comfort level, I guess.”

“I have been playing decent and obviously I still feel like I can play better.”

 “Hopefully I can keep this momentum going and have a good solid week before the U.S. Open.”

Sharing fourth place at -6 under par are, Dustin Johnson, Jordan Spieth, Freddie Jacobson, and Tom Hodge, all scoring rounds of 64.

Jordan got frustrated out on the course, but said he is learning to deal with it;

“It’s just kind of something that everyone goes through, you’ve got to learn to deal with it your own way.”

“Everyone gets frustrated when you play golf. You can’t be perfect in this game.”

“Everyone who is out here is on some level of being a perfectionist. Kind of counters each other. That’s where you get frustrated.”

There is then a  huge bunch of guys all  at -5 under par for this tightly contested title, they are headed by Ben Crane and James Hahn, who won at the Wells Fargo Championship, in a playoff.

Ben has been having trouble recently with par fives, today was different, he also reminded us of his best effort here at the AT&T in 2002;

“The par fives have been beating me up, today, I beat the heck out of them.”

“We put some extra effort into scrambling this week, and today I got 100 percent. It’s kind of fun.”

“Fourteen years ago I finished second here to Shigeki Maruyama.”

“And Tiger Woods, I don’t know if you’ve heard of him, finished third. Kicked his tail.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

