Kingsmill Championship. Mika Miyazato Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Mika Miyazato leads the Kingsmill Championship after the 1st round at a wet River Course in Virginia.

Kingsmill Championship

Mika Miyazato / getty images

JPN Mikka, from Japan shot an opening round -6 under par 65 in the Kingsmill Championship to lead the tournament by one shot. she spoke about the wet weather, and how good her putting was today;

“Course condition was pretty wet, and last two days with so much rain, so that’s why it’s so wet.”

“But I tried to be more aggressive so that’s why maybe I played very well today.”

“I was more focused on one shot at a time.”

” I spoke last night with my mental coach, so like the last three months, four months, I did not enjoy golf, so I tried to I enjoy golf this week, and he said, one shot at a time, more detail, so I tried to be more detailed today, so that’s why it works good.”

Defending champion,AUS Minjee Lee, and USA Brittany Lincicome share second  place, at -5 under par following their rounds of 66.

Minjee was asked if she was nervous being the defending champion;

“I mean, not really, I felt pretty calm the whole week, but just on the tee I felt a little nerves and more excitement that they said that I was the defending champion, so that was pretty cool, and it’s nice to hear that.”

Brittany was happy to be talking to media once more, it has not happened in a while, mainly due she said to poor putting;

“Good to talk to you guys, which hasn’t happened I don’t think at all this year, so it’s nice.”

“Like I said, the putter hasn’t really been working all year. I’ve been driving it really well, hitting the irons pretty good I felt, and just today I think I had 27 or 28 putts, which obviously any time you have putts in the 20s is good.”

“I just came in wanting just to play well and shoot under par again.”

“It seems like something that should come so naturally for someone who does this for a living, but it just hasn’t been happening lately.”

“Every time I see where I am on the Money List right now, it’s obviously very disappointing. It’s not normally where I am.”

“But I’ve been hitting the ball so well. Just obviously the putting just needs to kind of come around.”

“I thought about changing putters there for a while, and of course you have like one good day, and you’re like, okay, maybe it’s not the putter.”

“Then it kind of goes back again. So it’s kind of a, I don’t know what the deal is.”

The top-3 players in the world did not play so well together,  Lydia Ko +2 over 73, Inbee Park +3 over 74 and Lexi Thompson +1 over 72 struggled on Thursday, and will have some work to do to make the cut.

Leave a Reply

