Irish Open. Marc and Danny Share Top Spot.

White Dragon Golf

Marc Warren and Danny Willett share top spot on the leaderboard at the Dubai Duty Free Irish Open in the second round at The K Club.

Irish Open

Marc Warren / getty images

Marc shot a second round -6 under par 66 in the Irish Open tournament hosted by the Rory Foundation, to share top spot on the leaderboard with Danny at -8 under par for the tournament.

Marc said he was starting to come good, and his all round game is good;

“I feel as if I’m starting to get into a little bit more of a run now, so hopefully that’s the reason for the good form and hopefully it continues.”

“I felt, especially the last three events, I felt as if I was close to some decent form.”

“The first few months of the season were a little bit of stop-start scheduling-wise.”

“I think everything was pretty solid overall, I kept the ball in play off the tee, which is obviously important in these conditions, and the short game is good.”

Danny carded -1 under par 71 today to post his tournament total of -8 under, in the trickier conditions out on the course;

“A little bit scrappy but grinding out quite nicely, Marc’s score today is a fantastic round of golf.”

“A little bit trickier but as Marc showed, if you hit some good golf shots, there’s a score out there.”

Tournament host Rory McIlroy holds third place, a -2 under par 70 giving him a -7 under par total, and he knows his form is good, sinking enough putts, enough to win;

“I know that I’m making enough birdies to definitely win this tournament.”

“I’m making enough birdies, I think I made six birdies yesterday. I made six birdies today. So the birdies are there. I just need to limit the mistakes.”

“Four bogeys today, a couple of really soft bogeys as well.”

“I know that I’m hitting enough good shots and I’m holing enough putts. If I can live with the mistakes, I feel like I’ll be right there.”

“Obviously I haven’t made the cut here for a while, and to be in for the weekend and play a solid two rounds of golf, I’m right there in the mix. I’m excited for the weekend.”

“To hole that birdie putt on the last, it was nice. It gives me a little bit of momentum going into the weekend, and I’ll need it.”

Irish Open

Rory McIlroy / getty images

Leave a Reply

