Kingsmill Championship. So Yeon Ryu Takes Over at the Top.

White Dragon Golf

So Yeon Ryu takes over at the top of the Kingsmill Championship leaderboard at the  River Course.

So Yeon Ryu

So Yeon Ryu / getty images

So Yeon carded a second round -7 under par 64 to take the lead in the Kingsmill Championship at the half way stage, with her -7 under par total.

So Yeon said putting was the key for her today

“Today I’ve been putting really nice, my first hole I made a bogey, but it felt really great the next two holes. I made birdie-birdie right away.”

“Even my shot and birdie putt, and putting, I think today just everything was really working well.”

“I haven’t really consistently shot low scores since Hawaii, like five or six tournaments, then I shot seven under again today, so I hope I can hold this score the next two days, as well.”

“This one is definitely my favorite golf course what we play. Like you say, I consistently play really well here, so I feel really comfortable to stay here.”

 “I think I just really like the atmosphere, so I really enjoy it, so enjoying it makes me play.”

Sharing second place are three ladies, Stacy Lewis, -5 under 66 today, she played alongside So Yeon. Also Amy Yang -4 under 67 and  Mika Miyazato even par 71 today.

Stacy was much happier today, recovering well to easily make the cut;

“I’m happy with the round today, I needed a good score today to get up in contention and on the leaderboard, but it’s just going to be a long weekend.”

“You get ready for that. You get ready for delays and playing in the wet, and this golf course is going to get even harder.”

“You just kind of mentally prepare for it and know it’s going to happen, and if it doesn’t, that’s a great thing.”

“We both got off to a really good start, when you see other people make birdies, it kind of frees you up to know that it’s out there.”

 “Our whole group yesterday didn’t really make that many birdies, and so it was kind of boring in a sense, so we were definitely kind of feeding off of each other.”

World No. 1 Lydia Ko bounced back from a first-round +2 over 73 and posted a -3 under 68 to move into a tie for T37, while Inbee Park had to withdraw from the tournament, suffering from a recurring injury to her left thumb. A condition that kept her out of action for the last three LPGA events. We wish Inbee a speedy recovery.

Leave a Reply

