AT&T Byron Nelson. Sergio Steps Up To Win.

 

White Dragon Golf

 

AT&T Byron Nelson

Sergio Garcia wins the AT&T Byron Nelson at TPC Four Season Resort in Dallas Texas.

AT&T Byron Nelson

Sergio Garcia / getty images

Sergio, now 40 years old, claimed the AT&T Byron Nelson with a play-off win against Brooks Koepka.

They had both completed four rounds of AT&T Byron Nelson with -15 under par totals. Sergio with a final round of -2 under par 68, and Brooks sadly recording +1 over par 71. Sergio won the play-off, at the par four 18th with a par, Brooks recorded +2 over six.

Naturally 40 year-old Sergio was delighted with the win, putting well was an important part of the victory;

“You have to get lucky to win tournaments, playing well usually is not enough.”

“It’s nice to be on the other side of the coin.”

“Sometimes the win doesn’t come and you feel a little frustrated when you finish.”

“But putting yourself in a winning situation over and over is very important. We all know how much effort it is to win out here and in the past 15, 20 years, the level has become so much greater.”

“It’s not easy at all.”

“You can kind of say I went a little bit à la Seve today.”

Brooks fell apart in the final round saying he had no idea where his wedges were going;

“I had no idea where the wedges were going.”

“We’re pulling and pushing wedges 40 yards. I was backing out of it. I never felt like I really had a chance to go at a flag.”

“I had no idea where the ball was going, to be honest.”

“You can’t win a golf tournament when you’re swinging it and have no idea where it’s going,”

“It is disappointing but I’ve just got to figure out what’s going on with the swing.”

Matt Kuchar finished in third position at -14 under par, a last round -1 under par 69 not good enough on the day;

“Last year was certainly an off-year, frustrating year.”

“I feel like now I’m playing the golf that I remember playing , quality shot after quality shot and not many mistakes. Chances to win golf tournaments.”

“Golf is a lot more fun when you’re playing well, that’s for sure.”

Colt Knost finished in a huge group at -13 under par, -5 under 65 a good score on the day;

“THE PLAYERS was such a big event, being able to hold up like I did on Sunday.”

 “My game, it’s great right now. If I can cut out a few little mistakes here and there, I know I’ll have a chance to win.”

 

Leave a Reply

