LPGA Volvik Championship. Christina Kim Leads.

White Dragon GolfLPGA Volvik Championship

Christina Kim leads the LPGA Volvik Championship after the 1st round at Travis Pointe Country Club.

 

LPGA Volvik Championship

Christina Kim /getty images

Christina fired a first round -8 under par 64 to lead the LPG Volvik Championship by one stroke, and was delighted with her performance, swinging and putting well;

“Well, to be honest, I’ve been playing really well. It’s just the scores haven’t reflected how I’ve been playing.”

“I like to think that I try to make everyone comfortable when they’re playing because when you’re out here it’s enough of a grind as it is.”

“I’ve gotten the voices in my head that I can be out here quiet, it doesn’t matter, or talking. But I just want everyone out here to be comfortable.”

“It’s just a matter of being patient and letting the process kind of happen and just kind of getting the kinks out.”

“So for me it’s just a matter of staying patient out there. I’ve been swinging well, I’ve been putting well, and thankfully they kind of came together today.”

Ariya Jutanugarn, winner of the last two LPGA events, opened her tournament with a bogey-free -7 under par 65, without a driver in her bag;

“This course pretty firm, so I not even need to hit three-wood.”

 “Two-iron fine because I can keep it low.”

Minjee Lee, So Yeon Ryu and Marina Alex are tied in third place at -4 under par.

World No. 1 Lydia Ko opened her tournament with a -1 under par, 71 and sits in a tie for 17th for her effort.

LPGA Volvik Championship

Lydia Ko / getty images

Inbee Park was forced to withdraw once again with her thumb injury.

Leave a Reply

