LPGA Volvik Championship. Ariya Jutanugarn Advances to the Top.

White Dragon GolfLPGA Volvik Championship

 

Ariya Jutanugarn advances to the top of the LPGA Volvik Championship at the conclusion of the second round.

LPGA Volvik Championship

Ariya Jutanugarn / getty images

Ariya carded a second round -4 under par 68 to take the lead in the  LPGA Volvik Championship at the  half way stage with a -10 under par total, and a two shot advantage going into the week-end.

Ariya was happy to make some good putts on the back nine, and is now chasing her third consecutive win on Tour ;

“Today was pretty good.  I mean, I didn’t hit my iron that good but still okay, and I start to make some putt on the back nine.”

“I mean, right now I’m really happy with it and I really enjoy play golf right now, so I’m not thinking about, I’m going to win, I’m going to lose, but just have fun and keep playing  good.”

 So Yeon Ryu -5 under par 67 today, Christina Kim -1 under 71 and Marina Alex -5 under 67, all share second place at -9 under par.

Yesterday’s leader Christina had problems getting the ball in the hole;

“Everything was great, just the ball wasn’t in the hole.”

“I mean, it wasn’t like I was backing off of putts after I hit them trying to figure out how did I miss that break or anything like that.”

” It was just a matter of just burning the edges and just, I mean, not even really being a degree off.”

” So I’m still very confident going into the weekend.  I’ve still got a lot of confidence in my putting.”

So Yeon has been close to winning;

“I was so close to winning the last three tournaments, the final round wasn’t good enough to get the trophies so I was really disappointed in myself as well.”

“But the good thing is I just kept in contention, that I just kept fighting.”

” I really want to hold this and I really want to keep my positive mind until Sunday.”

Marina has been making swing changes, and feels the hard work is paying off;

“You know, I don’t necessarily think I was playing all that bad at the beginning of the year, I was just really rusty.”

 “I’ve been making a ton of swing changes in the off season and now they’re starting to feel more comfortable and just kind of everything is starting to feel like it’s mine and I own it.”

“Whereas at the beginning of the year I think I was just a little unsure with what I was doing and just not really fully committed to where I was and obviously now I am, so it’s paying off.”

 

Leave a Reply

