BMW PGA Championship. Chris Wood Wins

White Dragon Golf

ENG Chris Wood wins the BMW PGA Championship at Wentworth Golf Club, in England.

BMW PGA Championship

Chris Wood / getty images

Chris captured the BMW PGA Championship title with a final round -3 under par 69, giving him a winning total of -9 under par for the tournament.

Chris was told by his caddie to lay-up on the last hole, and not go for the green, five would be good enough to win;

“It’s hard to win, as I’ve proved. I did not look at a leaderboard all day but when you are making lots of birdies on a tricky day you know you are there or thereabouts.”

“On the 18th I had 196 yards to the front and I immediately thought six iron, but my caddie said; do you want to know the situation?”

“I said I’ll put it in your hands and he said I’d like you to lay up.”

“It seems silly hitting sand wedge; sand wedge into 18, but as soon as he told me to lay up, I knew probably five was enough.”

“I can rest easy now, and enjoy it now.”

“It’s huge, because my friends and family are here. It’s amazing. To win in front of them was unreal.”

SWE Rikard Karlberg came through the field with an amazing last round -6 under par 66, that featured an ace on the second hole, the result was good enough to give him second place on his own at -8 under par.

Rikard was very pleased with his finish;

“When I came here and played my first practice round on Tuesday it felt so tough, such a tough golf course, and to be able to do that on a Sunday I’m very thrilled.”

“I was a little bit tired today, there’s been a lot of tough golf this week and in Ireland, so this has given me a booster and I’m thrilled.”

ENG Masters Tournament champion Danny Willet was third, at -7 under par, a final round -1 under 71, needed to be lower from a man of his talent;

“There’s a lot of good in there but the bad shots round here this week have been pretty bad and we’ve struggled to get up-and-down from a few of them.”

“You come away and after a good couple of rounds last week and then a couple of poor ones, and similar again this week just struggled to get anything going on the weekend. 

“Looking at the scores now we could have made it really close today if we’d have got going and kept the foot down but we just threw too many mistakes at it.” 

“To get a top-five finish is alright but of course you’re working hard to try and win.”

“We never got anything going. It was easy sailing Friday in the morning, and then we hit a bit of a slow patch, and that kind of killed it really.”

“We never seemed to fire like we did on that front nine on Friday.”

Leave a Reply

