LPGA Volvik Championship. Three-Peat for Ariya.

White Dragon GolfLPGA Volvik Championship

A three-peat win for Ariya Jutanugarn as she captures the LPGA Volvik Championship title.

LPGA Volvik Championship

Ariya Jutanugarn / getty images

 

Ariya completed her third straight LPGA Tour win in style, carding a final round -5 under par 67 at the  LPGA Volvik Championship, for a five shot win at -15 under par.

Ariya, at first sight of this course thought it would be very hard to play;

“I mean, when I see the course, I just feel like it’s really hard for me because I can’t hit my driver and I really have to have a good game plan.”

“So to be honest, first time I see it, I think this course is hard and I don’t think I’m going to win, I just really want to do my best.”

Christina Kim moved into solo second at -10 under par, a -1 under 71 today never put pressure on the leader.

 “It was an interesting round.  I knew in my head, I said if I get to six under on the day today, I can at least have a chance to battle it out with Ariya.”

” And I was a little off mark, but I mean, I went out there and I played my best.”

“I probably made, God, what, like 15, 16‑foot of putts in the last like four holes.  I made some really good up‑and‑downs and I had a lot of really good swings.”

” At the end of the day I know that I played my best.”  

Tied in third place were Brooke Henderson, from Canada, -4 under par 68 today and Jessica Korda, even par 72, both ladies finished with -9 under par totals.

Brooke has posted her 10th top ten finish this year;

“Overall it was a solid week.”

“It’s always nice to see your name up near the top of the leaderboard and it’s been a few weeks since that happened for me, so today was definitely a solid day for me.”

” I missed some opportunities, but I also made up for a couple here on the back nine, so overall I’m happy.”

Jessica was amazed at the performance of Ariya today, especially her putting;

“I mean, it’s great.  I’m speechless.  That was amazing.”

” I definitely didn’t see, what, five under she shot?  I didn’t see five under there when we started the day.”

“Honestly, she putted so well today.  It wasn’t easy, greens were a little bit bumpy.  She made it look so easy.”

Leave a Reply

