Memorial Tournament. D.J. Leads At Jack’s Place.

White Dragon Golfthe Memorial Tournament

Dustin Johnson leads the Memorial Tournament after the first round at Muirfield Village, Jack’s Place.

DJ leads after 10-birdie opener

Dustin Johnson / getty images

Dustin carded 10 birdies against two bogey’s to card a first round -8 under par 64 at the Memorial Tournament.

Dustin started well from the get go, and suddenly likes his putter;

“I felt like I just played well right out of the gates.”

“I hit great shots in the right spot on the greens and rolled in some putts.”

“I hit it close on the first three holes and made all three of them, so that’s always a good way to start your day.”

“The putter is something that this year I feel like I’ve struggled with a little, but every other part of my game I feel like is in good shape.”

Brendan Steele holds second place on his own at -7 under par, following his opening round 65, which included everything, a double bogey 6 at the fourteenth, and an Eagle two at the par four 18th, Brendan spoke about his hole out;

“I told Christian, my caddie, these are shots I normally aim too far away from the hole, that I get a little too cautious.”

“We picked a really aggressive line, made a great swing, and it paid off.”

“I tried to take a little different attitude into today than I’ve had.”

 “It becomes a little bit more like a job out here sometimes, which I didn’t want it to be. I want to have a little bit more fun.”

“Even when I made double on 14, I was trying to be like, all right, this is what it’s all about. You just made double. You can still get in there and make a good swing and have a good finish.”

There are five players tied in third position, all at -6 under par after their opening efforts of 66. Hudson Swafford, Danny Lee, from New Zealand, Matt Kuchar, David Hearn, from Canada, and World number one, Jason Day, from Australia.

Jason is talking about being more conservative;

“I think this year is more about taking more conservative lines off tee or conservative shots, maybe throttling back a little bit here or there.”

“I can’t focus on the end result, I’ve got to focus on trying to get through tomorrow’s round and then Saturday and Sunday.”

“I’m very pleased with that because usually I’ve struggled here early, but I’m happy.”

Phil Mickelson, in the group at -4 under par, had an up and down day, including hitting a marshal with his tee shot off of 15;

“He looked like Ali taking hits, because he didn’t go down. He didn’t go down at all. He was just laughing about it.”

Rory McIlroy had a quiet day, -1 under par 71, while last weeks winner Jordan Spieth went one better at -2 under par.

 

 

Leave a Reply

