Nordea Masters. Six-Way 1st Round Tie

White Dragon Golf

There is a six-way 1st round tie at the top of the Nordea Masters at Bro Hoff Slot Golf Club in Sweden.

Nordea Masters

Andrew “Beef” Johnston / Getty Images

Beef, from England, was joined at the top of the first round Nordea Masters leaderboard by French rookies Clément Berardo and Sébastien Gros, German Florian Fritsch and the Scotts pair of Scott Henry and Marc Warren, all carding -5 under par 67, on a tightly packed leaderboard.

Beef, who was one of 13 golfers to earn U.S. Open spots at Walton Heath Golf Club in his native England on Monday, was delighted to be in contention again, sinking some good putts;

“I’m thrilled, I played really solid golf from tee to green and managed to hole a few putts, so I’m delighted.”

“I didn’t really have too much in the way of expectations this week because Wentworth was such a busy week, then I had the US Open qualifier on Monday so I was a bit tired when I got here.”

Florian Fritsch,

Nordea Masters

Florian Fritsch /getty images

who refuses to fly, so has only managed one European Tour and three Challenge Tour starts so far this season, was happy with his bogey free round;

“I just have to make some complicated journeys but for the most part it’s fine.”

 “I actually quite like it sometimes, because you get to see parts of Europe you wouldn’t otherwise see. I see it as a bit of an adventure.”

Former World Number One Lee Westwood is in the group at -4 under par, just one shot back. Lee has won here three times before, and is going for a European Tour record of four wins at one tournament;

“My short game has been sharp for quite some time now so I do really feel like I should start winning tournaments again soon.”

“Obviously it’s nice to come back to places you’ve won on before, but I’m more happy with the fact that I’m starting to hit the ball really well and seeing the flight on the shots that I like and on the greens I rolled the ball really well today.”

Leave a Reply

