ShopRite LPGA Classic, First Round Three-Way Tie.

White Dragon Golf

There is a three-way tie for the lead in the first round of the ShopRite LPGA Classic. Anna Nordqvist,  Ai Miyazato, and Paula Reto carded -7 under par 64.

ShopRite LPGA Classic

Anna Nordqvist / getty images

Anna was having success with her putter but still managed to throw in two bogey’s into the round;

“Well, I didn’t get off to the best start, but then on 16, I hit it to about a foot and a half, both 17 and 18, I had birdie putts from,  I think six feet.”

“Hit a good one wedge shot to another foot on one, so that was a good stretch.”

“From there on, I seemed to hit really good shots. Made a good 3-footer on 6 and a little longer putt on 7 and 8, I didn’t expect, and then a good 3-footer on the last.”

“Just very happy to be back and hit a lot of good putts today and then definitely a lot of good iron shots.”

Ai carded an Eagle three on the par five 3rd hole, but also made a bogey five on the 14th;

“Since the beginning of this year, my game was in good shape and all I can do is just to be patient.”

“But finally I could see some like momentum in my score.”

Paula also managed to put a bogey on her card, at the par four 4th, with tee shots being a problem for her, which she rescued with good putting;

“I’m really excited. I played good today, steady, especially with irons and putting, but not so much off the tee.”

“So I got a way with a couple of the shots. I told myself, one shot at a time, don’t focus and doubt yourself.”

“Everything paid off and I’m really happy and I’m excited to come back out tomorrow morning.”

Three ladies are tied in fourth spot at -6 under par, Casey Grice, Haru Nomura and Catriona Matthew.

This is a tightly packed leaderboard, and with only three rounds in this competition tomorrow is an important day to make a move.

Leave a Reply

