Nordea Masters. Matt Fitzpatrick Has 5 Shot 54 Hole Lead.

White Dragon Golf

Matt Fitzpatrick has a 5 shot lead after 54 holes of the Nordea Masters tournament at Bro Hof Slott Golf Club in Sweden.

Nordea Masters

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Matt Fitzpatrick

ENG Matt scored a third round -4 under par 68 to cement his position at the top of the Nordea Masters leaderboard with a -15 under par total, and will take a five shot lead into the final round tomorrow.

Matt said that staying patient, and putting well was the key;

“I putted really well again and let’s hope it continues for one more day because tomorrow’s the most important day.”

“I’m obviously delighted.”

“The greens are pristine and the way I’ve putted on them, it won’t surprise you to learn I’m a big fan of them. I wish we could putt on them every week.”

“It was a bit of a slow start, and I find the front nine more difficult than the back nine, especially in the wind.”

“But I stayed patient and got my rewards in the end. It’s one of the things I’ve learned since turning pro.”

Sharing second place at -10 under par are BEL Nicolas Colsaerts, -2 under 70 today, and local player SWE Alex Noren, who carded -5 under par 67, to get up the table and contend his home tournament, albeit from a long way back.

Defending Champion Alex is happy to have a chance to chase down the leader;

“To have the chance going into the final day is a bit of a bonus really.”

“I rode my luck at times today, and got away with a few bad shots but other than that I played really well, so I’m pretty happy.

“I’m going to have to make a few birdies to chase the leader down. But it should be fun.”

“I feel good, I’ve been working hard with my coach and my swing feels a lot better than it did for the last few weeks, so that makes me happy.”

Nicolas knows it will be a tough job to stop Matt from winning his second European Tour title;

“There are no real weaknesses in his game.;

“He’s pretty steady off the tee, and he’s very good around the greens. He handled the round brilliantly, because he didn’t start that well but he stayed patient and walked off with a very good score.”

“So even though he’s still young, he’s obviously grown up very fast. He’s going to be tough to catch but hopefully I can put some pressure on early.”

DEN Lasse Jensen is in fourth spot at -9 under par, after firing the low round of the day a smooth bogey free -6 under 66.

At -7 under par are four players, two home players SWE  Alexander Björk, +1 over 73 today and  SWE Rikard Karlberg -2 under 70. They share fifth place with ENG Andrew Beef Johnston, +1 over 73, and  ESP Alvaro Quiros -4 under 68 today.

Leave a Reply

