Nordea Masters. Matt Makes It His Title.

White Dragon Golf

ENG Matt Fitzpatrick makes it his title at the Nordea Masters, winning at the Bro Hof Slott Golf Club in Sweden.

Nordea Masters

Matt Fitzpatrick / getty images

Starting with a five shot lead Matt cruised to a comfortable victory at the Nordea Masters, carding a final round -1 under par 71, in tough conditions, to post a total of -16 under par, a three stroke winning margin;

“It was great, I’m delighted to win, I played fantastic, I’d probably say this is the best I’ve played today.”

It was a great final day for me and I managed to hold onto my lead fairly well and get the win. I felt like today was the round were I would be under the most pressure.”

“I was keeping an eye on where I needed to get to but I was just taking one hole at a time and I was so zoned-in to my own game, I didn’t know what was gong on around me half the time.”

“I’m a million miles ahead of schedule. It’s been a tough past few weeks and all of a sudden you turn up and pick up a win.”

DEN Lasse Jensen claimed second place, a final round -4 under par 68 not quite enough to catch the leader, finishing at -13 under par.

BEL Nicolas Colsaerts was third at -12 under par, he scored -2 under 70 in the last round, which was enough to give him that placing on his own. He said it was all going well until three putting 16, and then  finding water at the 17th;

” I was doing fine. Not really feeling any sort of pressure whatsoever, I felt pretty comfortable which is a good sign.”

“I’ll just put it on the list of another good week where I don’t really finish it off.”

“I feel a bit sad over the last couple of holes, three-putting 16 and then we miscalculated a shot on 17.”

“I really thought it was going to be fine but it’s just gone back in the water and I made double.”

“Apart from that I thought I played really well all week, I was in control of everything.”

SWE Local players Henrik Stenson, with the low round of the day, -6 under 66 and  Bjorn Hellgren -5 under 67 shared fourth position at -10 under par.

Henrik was fairly happy with his performance, just a slow start to the week;

“Very satisfied, I just wish I’d started the week the way I finished it.”

“I drove the ball very well today and yesterday, despite the tough conditions.”

“The breeze really got up today and the course is tough enough anyway, so to finish with a 66 is very pleasing and especially to do it in front of my home fans.”

“Obviously I would’ve loved to be in contention this week, but I probably blew my chance at the start.”

“This round today will help me build some confidence. It’s a big summer ahead and there’s a lot of golf to be played, so hopefully I can build some momentum and peak at the right time.”

Leave a Reply

