Lyoness Open. Adrian Otaegui Leads 1st Round

White Dragon Golf

ESP Adrian Otaegui leads after the 1st round of the Lyoness Open at Diamond Country Club in Austria.

Adrian Otaegui / getty images

Lyoness Open

 

Adrian, from Spain, leads the Lyoness Open after carding a magical bogey free first round-8 under par 64, giving him a two shot advantage at the top of the leaderboard.

He is hoping to go all the way now;

“I’m hoping now I can play four days in the same way so that’s the main goal.”

“Of course I’m very pleased. I played well from the beginning until the end and didn’t make too many mistakes.”

“The course is pretty hard and it’s not easy to get the ball close to the pin so I’m pretty pleased with it.”

SWE Björn Åkesson, from Sweden, is in second place, an opening round -6 under 66, contained one bogey, but it was good enough to claim the spot on his own.

Sharing third place at -5 under par, 67, are FRA Gary Stal, with three bogey’s, against two Eagles, while RSA Zander Lombard recorded only one bogey in his round of 67.

Gary was pleased with his double Eagle performance, especially his putting;

“I have found my game so I’m very happy. It’s not every day you get two eagles in the same day.”

“I holed out on the 15th after one bounce and on the second one I holed a ten foot putt.”

Defending Champion Chris Wood, who won the BMW PG Championship last month, did not start the defence of his title here too well, carding -1 under par 71, leaving him T28.

Leave a Reply

