KPMG Women’s PGA Championship. Lydia Ko in Control.

White Dragon Golf

Lydia Ko, the World number one, from New Zealand, is in control on the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship at Sahalee Country Club in Washington.

 KPMG Women’s PGA Championship

Lydia Ko / getty images

NZL Lydia took control of the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship with a third round -1 under par 71 to lead the tournament by one shot at -2 under par, going into the final round tomorrow.

Lydia said she would have to stay focused

“Going into Evian and ANA I just had very calm thoughts, very positive thoughts, to the final round.”

“I just said hey, just go out and enjoy it, and don’t worry about what everybody else does.”

“Just focus on the shot you need to hit’.

“That’s all I can do, just try my best and have fun. I can’t control what somebody else does so it’s important for me to focus on my game.”

“You know, I’m happy with my position. I didn’t really know how it finished up, because I didn’t get to see what the last group finished up. But obviously I’ve got to be happy with it. And I’ve just got to stay positive.”

“It seems like the girls, they’re playing really well, and they’re playing consistent. I’ve just got to focus on my game.”

“And I can’t control what the other girls are doing. So just try my best out there.”

“We’ve still got a long 18 holes to go. You just never know what’s going to happen until the winner’s putt drops on the last hole.”

USA Brittany Lincicome and USA Gerina Piller, both with even par third rounds of 71, share second place at -1 under par.

Brittany likes to come from behind on the last day;

“It’s easier to come from behind than be the leader. I feel like I’m in a great spot.”

Gerina is now comfortable with being in contention;

“You know, now I’m more comfortable. I’m more comfortable seeing my name up there.”

These three ladies are the only players currently under par for the tournament, in a true Major test.

First round leader and still co-leader after two rounds Brooke Henderson struggled on day three, carding +2 over par 73, but is still just two shots off the pace at even par for the competition, a good strong position.

One shot further back in the group at +1 over par is Catriona Matthew, who thinks three shots back is not impossible to make up;

“You never know what’s going to happen. If I go out and shoot another 67, four under, you never know.”

“A lot might depend on where the pins are.”

“Today the pins were very tough, so you couldn’t really go at many of them, to be fair.”

“We’ll see what they give us tomorrow,  but if you play well, the scores are out there.”

 

Leave a Reply

