Lyoness Open. Zander Lombard Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Zander Lombard leads the Lyoness Open and will take a one shot lead into the final round at Diamond Country Club in Austria.

Lyoness Open

Zander Lombard / getty images

Zander, from South Africa, carded -4 under par 68 in the third round of the Lyoness Open to post a 54 hole total of -11 under par, and sit on top of the leaderboard.

Being in contention is great boost for Zander, and he played well except for a triple bogey even on the 9th;

“It’s always a great position to be in to really compete and I’m looking forward to it a lot, so I’m going to give it my best and try to stick to what I’m doing, it seems to be working so far.”

“It was a bit of a brain burp at the ninth to be honest, because it was never a driver for me all week, my game play there was a two-iron, but my confidence got to me and I just wanted to hit a little cut off the left bunker and I came out of it a little.”

“I had some big birdies out there which I needed but obviously you’re always going to hit bad shots in this game and unlucky that it was a tough hole.”

“It wasn’t that bad of a shot but there’s no margin for error on that tee shot so I paid the price but at least I kept my cool around the turn and steadied the ship with a good par.”

“The birdie at 11 was another good switch to get my momentum going in the right direction.”

Best round of the day, and the tournament came from second placed  Ashun Wu, from China, he signed for a third round -7 under par 65, to elevate him up the leaderboard and claim the position on his own at -10 under par;

“I played really good today and I’m feeling good right now.”

“The weather was nice to us too, the conditions on this course are great.”

“I made a lot of birdies today and no bogeys so I’m getting a really good feeling at the moment.

“I just need to keep going now, don’t slow down and keep making birdies.”

Grégory Bourdy, from France, -2 under 70 today shares third place with Adrian Otaegui, the first round leader, from Spain, -5 under par 67 today. They are another stroke back at -9 under par.

Grégory was upset about carding a couple of double bogey’s;

“It was actually not as solid as the first two days but I had two difficult double bogeys from two mistakes.”

 “The rest was good and solid though, I stayed calm and focused and that’s why I finished with two birdies.”

“I’m challenging for the title, in a good position and I really like this course so let’s see how it goes.”

“I’ll do my best to make it a great round tomorrow.”

Leave a Reply

