FedEx St Jude Classic. Daniel Berger Wins Maiden PGA Tour Title

White Dragon GolfFedEx St. Jude Classic

Daniel Berger has claimed his first PGA Tour title, the FedEx St Jude Classic, at TPC Southwind in Memphis, Tennessee.

Daniel Berger celebrates with the trophy after winning the FedEx St. Jude Classic during the final round at TPC Southwind. (Andy Lyons/Getty Images)Daniel Berger/Getty Images

Daniel cruised to his maiden PGA Tour win at he FedEx St Jude Classic with a three shot victory after carding a final round -3 under par 67, to post winning total of -13 under par.

The turning point for Daniel was the par three 14th, making a 32 ft birdie putt there;

“If that putt didn’t go, then maybe I wouldn’t have been so free on the next one and who knows what would have happened.”

“I think you’re either born to be a competitor or you’re not, I just want to win in whatever I do.”

“It’s just a dream come true to finally be a champion.”

Three players tied for second place, at -10 under par, Brooks Koepka, -4 under par 66 today, Steve Stricker, -3 under 67, and Phil Mickelson who carded a final round -3 under par 67, in his warm up tournament to the U.S. Open next week;

“I had a couple opportunities on the back that I let slip, but for the most part I hit a lot of good shots.”

 “It almost feels like the U.S. Open came a week early to finish, second place.”

“Last week I struck the ball very well. This week I putted very well.”

“If I put them both together next week, it’s going to be a good week.”

“I just couldn’t catch him, but I’m coming out of this week with a lot of positives and some good momentum.”

Dustin Johnson was in fifth place at -9 under on his own, after his great last round -7 under par 63, the low round of the day;

“The game is actually really good, the first couple of rounds, I don’t know whether it was the heat or what, but I just, wasn’t getting the scores out of my rounds that I thought I should.”

“I just gave away so many shots the first three rounds.”

“I’m real comfortable, real confident going into next week.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

