KPMG Women’s PGA Championship. Brooke Beats Lydia in a Play-Off

White Dragon Golf

Brooke Henderson beat Lydia Ko in a play-off at the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship at  Sahalee Country Club, Washington.

KPMG Women’s PGA Championship

Brooke Henderson / getty images

Brooke and Lydia finished the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship tied at the top of the leaderboard with -6 under par totals. Brooke with a final round -6 under par 65, and Lydia -4 under 67. Brooke then proceeded to birdie the first play-off hole, the par four 18th. to win the title.

Brooke has become the youngest winner ever of this event, her first Major, title;

“Yeah that’s amazing, as well, to think about all of the incredible players that have come before me.”

 “And even I was reading some of the names on this trophy and it’s very, very cool.”

“When that putt went in on number eleven for eagle, that was kind of like the huge jump forward, huge momentum changer.”

“And then things just went pretty well. A good save on 14 out of the bunker. And then good putts on 17 and 18 to kind of finish it.”

“The last couple of days the support for Canada has been really incredible. Walking down the fairway we were yelling my name.”

“But last time they were just yelling Go Canada. And that was kind of a surreal feeling. I can’t really put words to it.”

“But I’d like to say that I am the Canadian face to women’s golf. And I’d like to say I’m a good athlete for Canada.”

World number one Lydia was complimentary about her opponent, and the challenge from the ladies on the LPGA Tour, and she would not be crying over this loss;

“We all push each other.”

“I think this is a great thing. It’s a fun challenge. I think this is great for golf and for the LPGA.”

“I wouldn’t be pretty if I was crying.”

“If I was crying, I’d have eye-liner going everywhere. I always worry about my makeup.”

Ariya Jutanugarn was in third place at -5 under par, a last round -5 under 66 giving her that place on her own;

“I’m very proud and getting a lot more confident, especially today, in a major.”

 

Leave a Reply

