Lyoness Open. Wu Wins.

White Dragon Golf

CHN Ashun Wu, from China, wins the Lyoness Open at Diamond Country Club in Austria.

Lyoness Open

Ashun Wu / getty images

Ashun carded a final round -3 under par 69, to claim his second European Tour title, the Lyoness Open, with a -13 under par total.

Ashun was obviously very happy to win such a close contest;

“I am very happy right now. It was a very exciting finish and I still cannot believe it, but my playing partners were really good today and the scores were very close.”

“My mindset was very good today and it was a great week overall.”

“At the tenth and 11th holes I just played two bad shots. I still kept working after that to do my best to make birdies and I did that.”

“I just kept focused over the last putt and I talked to my caddie and he said, it’s no problem, it’s an easy line so just putt it in the hole’”

“It’s been my first time playing in Austria and the course was very good this week.”

“The sponsors have been great and I have had some Chinese friends here supporting me so I must thank them all.”

ESP  Adrian Otaegui, from Spain finished second at -12 under par, a last round -3 under par 69 keeping the pressure on the leader all the way.

ENG Richard McEvoy was third, another shot back at -11 under par, he too scored a last round -3 under 69, with a bogey at the 18th;

“I gave myself a lot of chances today, played very solid again.”

“I think the green at the last was only the second I missed all day. I’m disappointed but at the same time, there are a lot of positives to take from this week.”

“My game is coming together and everything is going in the right direction to keep competing at the highest level.”

“That’s two top tens in the last three weeks, which has been great so there is a lot to look forward to for the rest of the year.”

Defending champion Chris Wood was among the large group on -8 under par after signing for  a -4 under-par 68 in his final round.

Leave a Reply

