U.S. Open. Players Perspective.

White Dragon GolfU.S. Open

Rory McIlroy would be happy to survive this test here at the U.S. Open at Oakmont Country Club.

U.S. Open

Defending Champion Rory McIlroy / Getty images

 

 

 

 

 

“To win on a course like Oakmont, with the conditions the way they are, it would maybe be my biggest accomplishment in the game.”

“It would make me feel like a more complete player, I guess. I’d be very proud if I won on a course like this.”

“Trepidation is what the players are feeling. It’s not excitement, it’s just trepidation. I mean, you could go a whole round without hitting at a single pin here.” 

Defending Champion Jordan Spieth would be happy to sign for a round of 75 or 76, and not be playing on the moon;

“When the wind is up I would probably sign for somewhere around 75 or 76, shake everyone’s hand and say, I’m going to go back and have a beer after that round.” 

“I’m looking forward to being back at a nice, traditional U.S. Open venue. It won’t feel like we’re playing on the moon this year.”

“If you win a US Open at Oakmont you can go ahead and say that you’ve conquered the hardest test in all of golf, because this is arguably the hardest course in America day-to-day.” 

Last Major winner Danny Willett thinks it’s fun;

U.S. Open

Danny Willett / getty images

“It’s a great golf course, great fun.”

“There’s a lot of different shots you can play. I’d say five over par on this golf course for four rounds is a pretty good score.” 

 

 

Phil Mickelson said this is the toughest course he has ever seen;

“I really think Oakmont is the hardest golf course we’ve ever played. The rough is very long and challenging, but even though it’s very hard, it’s still a fair test.”

Justin Rose, having won the U.S. Open, is happy to have that victory in his pocket already;

“Having won a US Open, it’s nice to have that monkey off the back. I’ve always enjoyed playing the tough golf courses, so I’m excited.”

World number one Jason Day is receiving some inside information;

“My agent (Bud Martin) is a member at Oakmont. He’s from Pittsburgh as well, so I’ll be speaking to him about this place a fair bit.”

Leave a Reply

