Meijer LPGA Classic. 5 Way Tie at the Top.

White Dragon Golf

There is a 5 way tie at the top of the Meijer LPGA Classic after the first round at Blythefield Country Club Lexi Thompson, Laura Davies, Carlota Ciganda, Paula Reto, and Sei Young Kim.

 Meijer LPGA Classic

Paula Reto / getty images

All the leading ladies carded first rounds of -6 under par 65 to share top spot on the Meijer LPGA Classic leaderboard.

Defending Champion Lexi stayed positive, and putted well;

“I didn’t really change anything, I just made sure I stayed positive.”

“I was hitting it well on my first nine, I two‑putted every hole on the first nine so I just had to be patient with it.”

” Then ended up holing out for eagle on my 10th hole, on No. 1 today, so that always helps with the putts.”

Carlota is enjoying the moment;

“Obviously it’s really good, start with a 6-under, it’s always good.”

” But I just want to focus on tomorrow, just go day by day, shot by shot and just stay in the present.”

” This is very long.  I mean, great players out there and just play my game and just enjoy.”

Dame Laura is impressed by the younger players on LPGA;

“It’s fun for me.  I loved watching that playoff last week; two really great young players, such happy‑go‑lucky characters as well, it’s good for the game.”

” But there’s room for the likes of myself and Juli Inkster and a few of the other old girls to show what we can still do because we all hit it well, it’s just the short game separates the top players from the ones that are just struggling a little bit sometimes.”

Paula just stuck to her guns, and kept paying her  game;

“I think I saw the leaderboard after my first nine, which is the back nine, and I just sort of looked at it.”

“I’m like oh, okay, I’m somewhere there in the middle or top middle, and I was like okay, I’m just going to keep playing.”

” From there on in I just kept playing my game. I wasn’t sure what really was leading; I thought maybe there could have been a 7 or 8 under today, but I just sort of stick to my own game.”

Sei Young had a hot putter today, needing  only 25 putts, and did not look at the leaderboard;

“I didn’t see that, yeah.  That not help me, so I just focus on the step by step, yeah.”

“Last couple tournament after I saw the; read the board and I play no good, so I try to, yeah, not going to see anymore.  Yeah, right.  It’s too hard.”

” And I see, look around, if I miss the; see the scoreboard and then oh, my gosh, I saw that.  I talk with Paul, Paul; I saw the leaderboard, what am I doing?  So yeah, getting better.”

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

