Meijer LPGA Classic. Lexi Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Defending Champion Lexi Thompson leads the Meijer LPGA Classic after 36 holes at Blythefield Country Club.

 Meijer LPGA Classic

Lexi Thompson / getty images

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lexi took control, shooting a second round -4 under 67 at the  Meijer LPGA Classic, for a -10 under par tournament total, and a one shot lead.

Lexi could have been further ahead but picked up two bogey’s in the final four holes, she has been suffering from a back problem;

“It just came on last weekend and it was really bad today.”

“I’m not really one to complain about pain because I just fight through it, but yeah, it’s hurting. I’m going to go and get a rub down and see if it goes away.”

“It was definitely important to come back from the two bogeys.”

” I just hit a few errant drives there towards the end and made bogeys, but I played 17 and 18 well.  I got pretty lucky on 18; I will say that.“

“It was just a little firmer out there today and a lot different conditions.”

” It was overcast most of the day yesterday, so shots were going a little bit further today.  I played in the morning also yesterday, so it was a lot different.”

Alena Sharp, -4 under 67 today,  Q Baek, -4 under 67, In Gee Chun, -4 under 67 and So Yeon Ryu -4 under 67, all share second place at -9 under par.

Alena, from Canada, made bogey on the last hole to spoil her day;

“You know, I got my bogey out of the way. I’ve had one this week, and it was on that hole. “

“Now I don’t have to think about it tomorrow.  That’s the way I’m looking at it.”

” It just rode the wind too much, and I got behind a tree, and that happens out here, so I’m not really going to look too much into it and just look at the overall day was a good day and move on to tomorrow. “

Last weeks play-off rivals Brooke Henderson and World number one Lydia Ko are in the group at -7 under par.

Lydia was happy with her performance;

“I’m happy with the way I played, I was pretty consistent, and I just got to keep playing like this.”

“My ball striking wasn’t as good as yesterday, so hopefully it can get better progressively on the weekend.”

Brooke said she enjoyed the warmer temperatures;

“It was much warmer out today, a beautiful day.”

“I started out not as well as I would have liked, 1 over for the front nine, but I made a lot of birdies on the back and go four under, so overall it was a pretty steady day.”

“I know I have some work to do on the weekend, but I’m looking forward to it.”

Leave a Reply

