U.S. Open. Shane Lowery Leads Suspended 3rd Round.

White Dragon GolfU.S. Open

 

Shane Lowry leads the 116th  U.S. Open as the third round was suspended due to darkness at                                                                       Oakmont Country Club.

Shane Lowry is seeking his second PGA TOUR victory after becoming the first player from Ireland to win a World Golf Championship last year. (Keyur Khamar/PGA TOUR)

Shane Lowry / Keyur Khamar/PGA TOUR

Shane leads the U.S. Open in third round with a -5 under par total, and he has four holes left to play to increase that lead, but was happy to get off the course after 32 holes on the day;

“I was getting tired toward the end, if I had to play another four holes, it would have been quite difficult.”

“I beat a field of this quality already, so there’s no reason I can’t go out and do it again tomorrow.”

“We all know that this course can jump up and bite you in a split-second.”

“I’m two ahead with 22 holes left, let’s not get ahead of ourselves. These are the best golfers in the world behind me.”

“I’ve been beating myself up over the last six months trying to get in this position. I’m here now. I might as well enjoy it.”

Andrew Landry is in second place, two shots off the pace at -3 under par for the tournament, he has completed 13 third round holes;

“I think I did a really good job out there, no nerves, very comfortable.”

“I feel like I play good golf on hard golf courses where par is a good score.”

 “That’s just kind of my game. It’s always been my game.”

Third place is shared between,  Lee Westwood, at -2 under for the competition, after 15 holes today, Sergio Garcia with 14 completed holes and Dustin Johnson with 13 finished round three holes.

Of the big three, Rory went home, Jason Day is still there at +1 over having completed his third round at -4 under 66, and Jordan Spieth +4 for the competition, an even par 70 today.

Jordan started well, and then it all faded away;

“A dream start for moving day.”

“I played three holes at four over today with a wedge in my hand from the middle of the fairway and it’s just kind of a bummer.”

“You’re not going to be able do anything at a U.S. Open if you get the wedge opportunities and you play them over par.”

Branden Grace occupies sixth place, he carded a -4 under 66 to-day to get to -1 under par for the tournament.

Branden thought he had been lucky, apart from dropping a shot at the last;

“I’ve been lucky.”

“I think last year I handled myself a little better than I thought I would.”

“It’s tough out there with all the pressure. You’re there with three of the best guys, best golfers of this day right behind us, and sharing the lead with them.”

“It was great that I could play the top as I did. It’s just a pity one bad shot cost me at the end.”

These guys are the only players under par at the current time, tomorrow will be an interesting day.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

