Meijer LPGA Classic. Play-Off Win For Sei Young Kim.

White Dragon Golf

Sei Young Kim wins the  Meijer LPGA Classic after a play-off against Carlota Ciganda at  Blythefield Country Club.

 Meijer LPGA Classic

Sei Young Kim/ getty images

Sei Young and Carlota were tied at the top of the Meijer LPGA Classic leaderboard at -17 under par at the end of the tournament.

Sei Young shot a lst round -3 under 68, and followed that with a  birdie at the first play-off hole, while Carlota sadly collected a bogey.

Before the playoff Sei Young thought she had already won;

“Before playoff I felt like already win but I didn’t check the leaderboard.”

“Then I thought the ceremony was already.”

“Why’s he waiting for me?  So after go to the tee box and I realize there’s the playoff.  Wow.”

“It was 109 to the pin.  It was a lot of release, so I just had 90 meters.  I did, it worked.”

“I’m very happy to win on the Father’s Day give it to my dad this trophy.”

Carlota carded -4 under par 67 to get into the play-off, but then hit her play-off tee shot into rough;

“Only one can win and obviously I hit it to the rough, it wasn’t an easy shot and she hit a really good one.”

 “So I mean congratulations to her and she was better.”

In Gee Chun finished in third place, two shots off the pace, at -15 under par, her final round of even par 71 was disappointing.

Just as disappointing was defending champion Lexi Thompson’s final round +1 over par 72, robbing her of any chance to keep the title.

Lexi finished T4 with world number one Lydia Ko, -3 under 68 today, both ladies at -14 under par.

Lexi had no excuses for her poor showing today;

“Last week was a bit of a struggle there at Sahalee but still managed to get a good finish there.”

 “But overall this week with how I played, I’m very happy with it.  I hit it a lot better this week, I rolled it great except for today, so it happens.”

Leave a Reply

