Quicken Loans National. Jon Rahm Leads.

White Dragon GolfQuicken Loans National

Jon Rahm leads the Quicken Loans National at Congressional Country Club, in his first start as a professional. The first round stared two hours late because of rain, and was brought to an early end due to darkness.

Quicken Loans National

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jon Rahm

Jon the latest wonder kid from Spain  fired an opening round -7 under par 64, in his first tournament as a professional player, at the Quicken Loans National.

Jon did not remember any decent shot or putt he made during his inaugural professional tournament;

“I was anticipating this moment.”

“I’m working on it a long time that I kind of blacked out a little bit.”

“I don’t remember a single swing I made all day or any putting stroke or anything. I just remember the ball flying or rolling.”

He was the only amateur to make the cut last week in the U.S. Open, and spoke about the advice given to him there by Jack Nicklaus;

“What he told me is to just never do more than what I can do.”

 “Try not to risk too much. And that’s certainly something I did today.”

In second place at -6 under par is Jhonattan Vegas after his fist round 65, he said good tee shots were a bonus today;

“On this course you had better drive it well in the fairway and it’s a bonus if you can drive it long and straight.”

“Put it in the fairway and greens being a little softer than normal, you can play a good round today.”

Eight players are tied in third place at -5 under par, including Ernie Els who won the 1997 U.S. Open at Congressional.

Ernie told reporters he had no problem remembering every shot;

“Winning a major at a special place like Congressional, playing here again, you just keep thinking back on shots.”

 “Almost every single hole there’s a moment back in ’97 where we can remember still.”

“I felt comfortable with my swing this week.”

 “I’ve had a very tough year. I haven’t played very well, so I need to start playing well.”

Ernie has not fulfilled his great potential, the turning point being the sailing injury to his left knee in 2005, time is now not on his side.

 

Leave a Reply

