Quicken Loans National. Two Tied for 36 Hole Lead.

White Dragon Golf

Quicken Loans National

There are two players tied at the top of the Quicken Loans National after 36 holes at Congressional Country Club. Billy Hurley 111 and Jon Rahm.

Billy Hurley and Jon Rahm played together in the opening two rounds at Congressional CC, and they'll do the same on Saturday. (Getty Images)

Billy Hurley 111 and Jon Rahm/ getty images

Billy and Jon share the Quicken Loans National tournament lead at -11 under par after Billy had carded a second round -6 under par 65, to first round leader Jon’s -4 under par 67 today.

Billy said he just took advantage of the soft conditions;

“I just hit a lot of good shots.”

“I was just able to keep the pedal down and continue to attack the golf course, which is not something you usually do around Congressional.”

“But being soft I was able to take advantage of the conditions and get the ball a little closer to the hole than you’re used to.”

Jon is still in disbelief at his rise to the top;

“I’m just lucky to be here today,.

“If you tell me 10 years ago when I was 11 years old that I would be leading a PGA TOUR event when I was 21, I wouldn’t believe you.”

At the opposite end of the age scale, Major winner Vijay Singh sits in third place, a second round -5 under par 66 giving him third place on his own at -8 under par, and he admitted he needed a little luck with a wet recovery shot;

VJ would  be the oldest PGA TOUR winner if he were to capture the Quicken Loans National title;

“It would be good to win.”

“But it’s only halfway, so I’ll be focused on my game tomorrow and see what happens.”

“I was unfortunate that it went that far in, and fortunate that it stayed out.”

“I kept sinking when I got in the water. I started out with just my foot in the water and then it started getting up to my ankles.”

“The more I moved, the deeper I went, so I kind of had to play a very safe shot. I got away with a bogey.”

Leave a Reply

