Walmart NW Arkansas Championship. Ayako Uehara Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Ayako Uehara, from Japan, leads after the first round of the Walmart NW Arkansas Championship in Arkansas.

Walmart NW Arkansas Championship

Ayako Uehara / getty images

Ayako carded an amazing  bogey free first round of -9 under par 62 in the Walmart NW Arkansas Championship to sit on top of the leaderboard with a two-stroke advantage over the field.

Ayako spoke via an interpreter to the news media, citing good teamwork for her success;

“With the caddie and the trainer, everybody is like teamwork, and then that’s my motivation now, and so everything is coming together, including the swing coach.”

In second place at -7 under par following her opening round 64 is Candie Kung, from Taipei.

Candie said she was in cruise control, just like last week, just having fun.

“We kind of put it on cruise control and just go, yes, without thinking a whole lot, and then once you stop waiting for the group in front then you start thinking about stuff, which is not good.”

 “I was having a lot of fun, and we had a good group of people that I like, and we all played very fast, so I think that helps, too, and we didn’t wait at all the whole round, so I think that helps, too.”

Fourteen ladies are tied in third place at -6 under par, Giulia Molinaro, Angela Stanford, Vicky Hurst, Sandra Gal, Jing Yan, Alena Sharp, Sun Young Yoo, Chella Choi, Minjee Lee, Carlota Ciganda, Ai Miyazato, So Yeon Ryu, P.K. Kongkraphan and Morgan Pressel.

Morgan was hitting it close to the pin all day;

“I hit my wedges very well today.  I certainly got off to a good start on one and 10 and 11.”

” I think I really only made; I’m trying to remember, one birdie putt over maybe six or seven feet for the most part.”

” I hit it pretty close all day and gave myself a lot of opportunities.”

 

Leave a Reply

