Quicken Loans National. Billy Hurley 111 Hangs On.

White Dragon GolfQuicken Loans National

Bill Hurley 111 hangs on to the Quicken Loans National lead, but has close company from a fast charging Ernie Els.

Quicken Loans National

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ernie Els

Billy carded a third round -4 under par 67 to hang onto the lead in the Quicken Loans National, at Congressional Country Club with his -15 under par total, and a two shot advantage over the field.

Billy lost his father a while back, and thinks of him all the time, wishing he could be there when Billy wins his maiden tour title;

“It dawned on me: this is what my dad did.”

“He walked inside the ropes and did this at Presidents Cups and stuff.”

 “Obviously, I think about my dad a lot.”

“I can’t think of a better one for me to win.”

 “To be my first one on tour, it would be probably the best one of kind of the regular-season tournaments, for sure.”

Billy puts his ability to focus on his Navy training;

“That definitely helps in adversity on the golf course”

“Focus, too. When you’re driving a ship through the Suez Canal, it’s all eyes ahead, focused exactly what we’re doing.”

“Land on each side and trying to just keep it in the middle. Focusing on the task at hand is definitely something that I’ve learned, as well.”

Ernie fired a -6 under par 65 to post a tournament total of -13 under par for the 54 holes played. Ernie collected an  Eagle at the par four 12th hole, dropping his  156 yard approach shot straight into the cup.

Ernie spoke about his Eagle, and remembering about his win here at Congressional in the 1997 U.S. Open;

“When the game gives you something, there’s a lot of excitement there and that was really one of the more exciting moments.”

“I don’t think I’ve ever slam-dunked it into the hole like that. I’ve had some run of slopes and run into the hole but that just flew right in. It was a great feeling.”

“I can’t but help think about it because I won one of my biggest events here as a pro and I love it so much and obviously one more win will give me the 20, which is huge.”

 “On the golf course you think about the next shot and I’m quite focused this week on my next golf shot. I’m not too clogged with that kind of a thought.”

Professional new boy Jon Rahm, yesterday’s co-leader, is in third place at -12 under par, a third round -1 under par 70 was not what he was hoping for.

Jon said he was lost for rhythm today;

“I couldn’t seem to find the rhythm to find the fairway.”

“With the way I hit the driver, I’m lucky to have finished under par.”

 

Leave a Reply

