Walmart NW Arkansas Championship. Lydia & Morgan Tied at the Top.

White Dragon Golf

World number one Lydia Ko, from New Zealand, is tied at the top of the Walmart NW Arkansas Championship leaderboard with American Morgan Pressel.

 Walmart NW Arkansas Championship

Lydia & Morgan / getty images

 

Lydia carded a second round -9 under par 62, which included an Eagle at the par five 18th, to climb to the top of the Walmart NW Arkansas Championship leaderboard, sharing that place with Morgan, who managed to keep pace with the leader with her -8 under 63, they both have -14 under par totals.

Lydia is aware that low numbers are available out here, so two shots could easily be made up;

“You can see by the scores, there are some low numbers out there, so typically you could be five, six shots behind and you may shoot a magical number and be right up there in contention.”

“Like I’ve experienced in the past, so I don’t think you can take anyone out of it.”

“It’s a field with a lot of big names, so even though I’m currently leading and tied with Morgan, you just can’t take anyone out of it within that five, four‑shot lead range.”

” So I just have to focus on my game.  You could get carried away thinking what is another player doing, but I’m just going to try and focus on what I’m going to do and give myself good opportunities.”

Morgan is keeping her eye on winning, and will come out tomorrow swinging;

“Certainly winning is the goal, and what I’d like to do tomorrow, you know, step by step, you have to start with a good drive on the first hole and just ‑‑ if I play anywhere near like I did today, I think that I can get it done.”

“I’m definitely in a good position, and I just am going to go to the range, make sure everything’s all set for tomorrow and ready to go, and come out swinging.”

Jin Yang, -6 under par 65, and Candie Kung, -5 under 66 today are tied in third place at -12 under par for the tournament.

Jin said she is striking the ball well, and making a lot of putts;

“I think this week I’m hitting it a lot better and I’m making a lot of putts, so those two things I have been really on and off this year.”

“At ShopRite they were really good and at a lot of other events they really weren’t, and it really showed when I didn’t play very well through my long game.”

” I struggled to have lots of birdie opportunities and get higher up on the leader board, so this week I felt like a little bit of change in my swing, really comfortable, striking the ball.”

Candie admitted to having putting problems;

“Actually, I have been struggling with my putting the last couple weeks, and I think I was thinking too much about technique out on the golf course, so like my goal was to be, just to keep it as simple as possible.”

 “I have been working on swing techniques, trying to make the ball roll a little bit more straighter, and it was going good and then I got too technical out on the tournament, which isn’t great for, like being simple.”

” Simple is great for out here, so I think; so this week I just tried to be as simple as possible and I think that was the key for all past weeks, so I think that’s what’s been helping.”

Leave a Reply

