Walmart NW Arkansas Championship. World #1 Lydia Ko Wins

 

White Dragon Golf

World #1 Lydia Ko from New Zealand wins the Walmart NW Arkansas Championship, with a new low scoring tournament record.

 

Lydia Ko of New Zealand displays the trophy after winning the Walmart NW Arkansas Championship

Lydia Ko / Getty Images

Lydia strode to victory with a new tournament low score record at the Walmart NW Arkansas Championship. A final round -3 under par 68 giving her a -17 under par record low total for the three round tournament, beating the old record by two shots.

Lydia won despite carding a bogey 6 on the last hole;

“Yesterday I had a hot back nine and today I had a hot front nine.”

“But, you know, I think as soon as I; after a few holes, to the back nine, I think the sun kind of got to me a little bit.”

” I could definitely feel the heat. I was kind of grinding out there and I think; I hit the ball really well on the front nine but I didn’t hit it that well on the back, and that kind of happened for my second shot on the last hole.”

” Not the most fanciest way to finish off a championship, but I’m just going to think of it as me bogeying another hole.”

Candie Kung, from Taipei, -2 under 69 today,  shared second place with Morgan Pressel, USA, who had a strange round of even par 71, with 5 birdies, wiped out by five bogey’s, both ladies with -14 under par tournament totals.

Candie admitted the heat finally got to her today;

“I kept myself in there. I was really tired out there. It was really hot. It finally got to me today.”

” I think that’s how I started the day, how I started.  Because it was just a mental mistake on the second hole.”

” I made that for bogey, but luckily I’m making the birdies coming in.”

A tearful Morgan said she just ran out of luck;

“I had high hopes certainly, and I felt like I played pretty well for nine holes, hung in there, but then I just couldn’t keep it going and couldn’t get lucky as I had been getting lucky.”

” It just wasn’t my day.”

 “You know, I know I’m heading in the right direction, I know it’s in there.”

” Just got to pull it out a little more often. I really just loved playing here this week in front of my friends and my husband and his crew.”

” I don’t know what else to say, sorry.  It’s upsetting to not finish the way that I wanted to.”

Leave a Reply

