French Open. Lucas Bjerregaard Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Lucas Bjerregaard leads the 100th edition of the French Open after the first round in Paris at Le Golf National course.

French Open

Lucas Bjerregaard / getty images

 

Lucas, from Denmark, had to play with brand new clubs after his set were lost in transit (probably stolen). It did not affect his game, a hole in one at the 210 yard par three, second hole, setting him on his way to an opening -5 under par 66, and to top the French Open leaderboard by one shot;

“I got a little momentum off that hole-in-one there and it was nice to back it up on the holes after and nice to shoot a good number today.”

“It’s a great start and I think that’s what I’ve been needing these last few past weeks,.

 “I’ve been playing decent and seeing a lot of improvements. I just haven’t really put any  good rounds together.”

Four players are tied in second place at -4 under par following their first rounds of 67,   Bernd WiesbergerThongchai Jaidee,Thomas Pieters and Adrian Otaegui.

Bernd felt he was in control of the ball all day;

“I stepped over the ball and I felt like I knew what it’s going to do on any club and therefore I’m pretty pleased with my first round.”

“All aspects of the game were quite good today and therefore I’m pretty pleased with the round.”

“It wasn’t easy, we had a bit of rain and the wind was up. But I felt comfortable.”

“You never know how it’s going to turn out the following year, but every time I come back here, I enjoy playing this place.”

“I was doing the right things today, hitting good tee shots and got myself into position, and that’s the key around here.”

World number four Rory McIlroy could only manage an opening round of level par 71 while  Masters tournament winner Danny Willett slumped to a +4 over par 75.

Leave a Reply

