Portland Classic. Brooke Henderson Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Defending Champion Brooke Henderson, from Canada, is leading the Portland Classic.

Portland Classic

Brooke Henderson / Getty Images

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Brooke leads by two shots after her opening round at the Portland Classic of -7 under par 65;

“It was a good day.”

“You know, I started off with a birdie on the 1st hole and then nothing was really happening through the first five, I guess.”

“Just getting things rolling again and just being out here on this golf course in the Northwest, you know, in the beautiful temperature.”

“I like wearing long sleeves and pants. I was able to make four birdies coming in right in a row to get to minus seven and put myself in a good position.”

“I love tree-lined courses, and that’s very much what this course is.”

 “With the bent grass, which is kind of what I grew up on, I really like it. It suits my eye.”

“Then winning here, that gives me those extra vibes and adrenaline, which I think will help as the week goes on.”

“This golf course, being out here in the Northwest, in the beautiful temperature, I like wearing long sleeves and pants.”

Three ladies are tied in second place, those two sots behind at -5 under par, shooting first rounds of 67,  Mariajo Uribe, Angela Stanford and Demi Runas.

Mariajo is getting her putting mojo working again;

“Last week I play with Morgan the first two rounds and she was leading.”

“She putted so firm and they were going in, so that’s something I used to do when I was an amateur.”

“You just get onto tour and you just fall into bad habits.”

“Working on it again. This week, I mean, it worked today, so hopefully for tomorrow I have a good round and looking good for the weekend.”

Angela too enjoyed watching her ball disappear into the cup;

“It’s nice to watch the ball go in the hole here.”

“I haven’t always played well here, so tried to just put all that on the back burner and see if I could carry it over from last week, and it did.”

Demi admitted to being nervous;

“I get really nervous, anxious, but I’ve always had that. I’ve just been a nervous player.”

“The way that my sports psychologist and I have talked about it, it’s a good thing if you’re nervous. It means you care.”

Leave a Reply

