WGC Bridgestone Invitational.

 

World Golf ChampionshipWhite Dragon GolfWGC-Bridgestone Invitational

William McGirt leads the WGC Bridgestone Invitational at Firestone Country Club in Ohio.

McGirt starts fast at Firestone

William McGirt / getty image

William shot a first round -6 under par 64 to lead the WGC Bridgestone Invitational by three strokes at the end of the day. He likes the fact that it does not suit the longer players off the tee;

“I fell in love with the place because length is not everything out here.”

 “You have to drive it in the fairway. You have to drive it in the correct spots in the fairways to be able to attack pins.”

“I love it because you can’t stand up there and just hit it as hard as you want, go find it and hack it on the green.”

“It’s an old, traditional-style golf course, which I absolutely love. I don’t know, maybe it’s something with Ohio I like.”

“Now that I’ve won once, I want to win twice, and I want to win three times.”

“Big thing is to go ahead and get four wins so I can play PGA TOUR Champions when I turn 50.”

Three players share second place at -3 under par after their opening rounds of 67, World number one Jason Day is there along with Jimmy Walker and Emiliano Grillo.

Jason summed up his day;

“It was just kind of a weird feeling of a day where I kind of made some good pars, kept the momentum going and all of a sudden I shot 67.”

 “I’ve just got to keep grinding until Sunday is over.”

Jordan Spieth, Anirban Lahiri, Rickie Fowler and Charley Hoffman are at -2 under par, all with rounds of 68.

Jordan thanked his putter for the  Birdies on the final four holes, and for sinking par puts from 20 and 25 feet;

“This is one of the best rounds; one of the happiest I’ve;  one of the happiest two unders I’ve ever shot for sure.”

 “I wasn’t supposed to shoot two under today. I kind of wish we kept on playing, even though I felt so kind of poor most of the round.”

“I’m really just searching for something that isn’t far off, that’s real simple, that feels like I’m more compact in my swing that allows me to time it better at the bottom.”

“Again, it really is only taking place on my scoring clubs, but that’s where you need them.”

“It’s close. It’s almost there, and when it clicks, we’re definitely in business right now the way the short game is on.”

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

