French Open. Rory McIlroy Makes His Mark.

White Dragon Golf

Rory McIlroy makes his mark at the French Open moving into a share of the lead, with Mikko Ilonen, Thongchai Jaidee, Brandon Stone and Jeunghun Wang.

French Open

Rory McIlroy / getty images

Rory shot  a second round -5 under par 66 to join the leaders at the top pf the French Open leaderboard on that score. Jeunghun also had -5 under today, to share the low round of the day score, while Brandon and Mikko shot -3 under 68, and Thongchai recorded -1 under at Le Golf National course in Paris.

The difference for Rory today was the putting;

“I putted well, I felt like I putted nicely. There were still a couple of putts that didn’t quite drop but it felt good out there.”

“Today was a good day, I played well. I kept the ball in play, I drove it well, hit fairways, hit a lot of greens. That’s sort of what you need to do around this golf course.”

“There were good shots but I’m not really just focusing on the target. I’m focusing on what I’m doing here.”

“In a way it’s nice to go into contention and not really be thinking about the result.”

“It’s a nice thing to have to just be thinking about your swing and thinking about what you need to do here to obviously get the ball close to the hole out there.”

“It’s a work-in-progress.”

“I need two more days like that over the weekend to have a chance and try to win. But I’ve put myself in a good position.”

Defending champion Bernd Wiesberger, level par 71 today, shares sixth place with Nicolas Colsaerts and Anders Hansen, who both carded -3 under 68 today, all at -4 under par, and just one shot off the lead.

 

 

Leave a Reply

