Portland Classic. Brooke Bounces Back to the Top Alone.

White Dragon Golf

Brooke Henderson, the defending champion from Canada, bounces back to the top of the Portland Classic leaderboard on her own.

Portland Classic

Brooke Henderson / getty images

Brooke carded a third round of -2 under par 70, to post -13 under par at the top of the Portland Classic leaderboard after 54 holes, despite not being happy with her golfing performance out there today;

“I played pretty awful today.”

 “Definitely want to play better tomorrow. I mean, I hit a lot of good shots. I just didn’t capitalize on my chances.”

“That was the first 12 holes for me. And then just really that one bad hole kind of changed things around a little bit.”

Sitting two shots behind the leader at -11 under Mariajo Uribe was excited with her position. Her third round score was -1 under par 71;

“I’m really excited, it’s nice to play with somebody like Brooke that’s so young and aggressive.”

“I love match play, so today I just went out with the mentality of playing match play against her and staying alive until 18, and we’ll see what happens tomorrow.”

“Tomorrow I’m just going to think on my game; shoot a low round.”

“I love playing with Brooke and she’s been playing so good. If I win, I want it to be because I shoot a really good round not because anyone else struggle.”

“It would mean a lot, I mean, a Colombian hasn’t won on tour for a long time.”

“Just being an Olympic year it would be good momentum. This year has been a little tough for me. The results haven’t come.”

Austin Ernst, -3 under 69 today, and Suzann Pettersen, who started the day as joint leader are in third place at -9 under par. Suzann had a round to forget, +2 over par 74, which dropped her down the leaderboard.

 

Leave a Reply

