WGC Bridgestone Invitational. Jason & Scott Share Top Spot.

World Golf ChampionshipWhite Dragon GolfWGC-Bridgestone Invitational

Jason Day & Scott Piercy share the top spot on the WGC Bridgestone Invitational leaderboard after 54 holes at Firestone Country Club.

Jason Day only hit three fairways in his third round, but still managed to shoot a 1-under 69. (Ryan Young/PGA TOUR)

Jason Day / getty images

Jason carded a third round -1 under par 69 at the WGC Bridgestone Invitational to share top spot with Scott Piercy, -3 under par 67 today. Both have tournament totals of -5 under par.

A mental driving error cost Jason, it went right and kept going right, he likened it to a scene from Caddyshack, eventually his putting saved him;

“That came out of nowhere, it wasn’t just down the right. It was way right.”

“I think it’s more of a mental thing when it comes to those ones because when you’re sharp and you’re on your game and you’re hitting it great, you don’t miss them that far.”

“I felt like Mr. Haverkamp out of ‘Caddyshack’ trying to find his golf ball and not knowing where the golf hole goes.”

“The short game saved me, but mentally I was just trying to grind and grind and grind.”

“Because I thought if I can just somehow get something in and give myself an opportunity for tomorrow.”

“It’s very easy, hitting the positions I hit it today, to sit there and go, `Well, it’s just not my day or not my week’ and kind of switch off a little bit. But didn’t want to allow myself to switch off mentally.”

 “Days like this, they just happen sometimes.”

 “You just have to somehow get it done, and fortunately for me I holed a lot of good, quality putts out there.” 

Scott knows he can compete at this level, he just needs to do it consistently;

“I know I can do it, it’s just doing it on a consistent basis like a Jordan or a Jason and those guys.”

David Lingmerth holds third place at -4 under par, a third round -1 under 69 keeping him in the hunt for the title. He said he felt comfortable playing alongside the World number one;

“Saturday of a big golf tournament, playing with the World No. 1, and I felt comfortable all day.”

 “I’m looking forward to tomorrow.”

 

Leave a Reply

