French Open. Thongchai Jaidee Wins.

White Dragon Golf

Thongchai Jaidee, from Thailand, wins the French Open at Le Golf National in Paris.

French Open

Thongchai Jaidee / getty images

 

Jubilant Thongchai easily won his 8th European Tour title, the French Open, carding a final round -3 under par 68 for a -11 under par total and a four shot winning margin.

Thongchai spoke about perfection this week, including good putting;

“I think this is the biggest tournament in my life. This golf course is fantastic for me, I’m really happy with that. Absolutely perfect.”

“I’m very happy to have my family here this week together and also really happy to win the tournament here.”

“I know the golf course is fantastic. I’ve been here many, many years and I think especially this week, it’s a special week for me to win the tournament out here.”

“Sometimes you need one perfect week. You can’t do well every week. This week is my perfect week because I didn’t miss much.”

“Anything I missed, I found I could lay up and make a good shot and make par and that’s it.”

“It’s my biggest win ever, I played great this week, no complaints at all.”

“I had Rory two shots behind me but I tried to play my own game, hit a lot of fairways and greens and I knew this week I was putting well.”

Francesco Molinari, from Italy claimed second place at -7 under par, his last round -5 under par 66 was the low round of the day, and it took him up the leaderboard.

World number four Rory McIlroy could do nothing in the final round, signing for an even par 71 leaving in him third position at -6 under par, and five shots off the pace of Thongchai.

Leave a Reply

