WGC Bridgestone Invitational. DJ Does It Again.

World Golf ChampionshipWhite Dragon GolfWGC-Bridgestone Invitational

DJ does it again, Dustin Johnson wins the WGC Bridgestone Invitational at Firestone Country Club.

Dustin Johnson followed up his win at the U.S. Open by winning the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational. (Sam Greenwood/Getty Images)

Dustin Johnson / getty images

Dustin shot a final round -4 under par 66 to claim the WGC Bridgestone Invitational title with a winning total of -6 under par, and a two shot wining margin, good putting made the difference.

At the beginning of the tournament it was said that this course suited the shorter hitters off the tee, the long guys would have problems with the tree-lined course. I guess no one told Dustin that;

“This golf course is playing so tough, it’s not like I need to go out and shoot 63.”

“You just try to hit it in the fairway and get to get it on the green and try to make some putts. I knew if I shot 4 or 5 under I’d have a chance.”

“I feel great, I feel like my game is where it has been all year. I just haven’t been putting quite as well as I’d like.”

“The last couple of weeks, I just putted a little better.”

Scott Piercy was in second place at -5 under par, he carded a last round of even par 70.

World number one Jason Day has suffered the same type of last round malaise as Rory over in Europe earlier, Rory could only card an even par last round when in contention.

Jason was worse, with final round +2 over par 72, to finish tied in third place at -3 under par, with Jordan Spieth, -3 under 67 today, Matt Kuchar -4 under 66 and  Kevin Chappell with his last round -3 under 67.

Jason did not get a green in regulation over the last six holes, and he was disappointed with the outcome;

“Disappointed, but I’ve got to try and focus on what I did great this week, move on, and try and get better for the next one.”

One thought on “WGC Bridgestone Invitational. DJ Does It Again.

Leave a Reply

