U.S. Womens Open. Mirim Lee Leaps Ahead.

White Dragon GolfU.S. Womens Open

 

 

Mirim Lee leaps ahead of the field in the U.S. Womens Open in the first round at  CordeValle Golf Club in California.

U.S. Womens Open

Mirim Lee / getty images

 

In the easier conditions that prevailed early on Mirim took full advantage to card a U.S. Womens Open first round score of -8 under par 64, giving her a three shot lead going into the second round tomorrow.

Mirim said the course was in perfect shape;

“The course is perfect now, greens are really fast. I just try make par, yeah, that’s it.”

Cristie Kerr is sharing second place with Minjee Lee, both had opening rounds of -5 under par 67.

Cristie, who won  the 2007 U.S. Women’s Open at Pine Needles Lodge and Golf Club put her revival down to a new driver, that suits her;

“When you’re struggling to hit fairways, I can’t blame everything on the club, obviously, but when you’re struggling to hit fairways, it makes the game a lot harder.”

“And then the mental game gets off of it, it’s a whole process like that.”

“But I knew when I found the driver this week that it just felt so much like my old driver and we found the right combination and even if I missed a little bit I could feel what I did wrong.”

“I could feel the difference, like I said, I’m just happy that we worked it out.”

Minjee admitted to missing some putts, that she should have made;

“I hit really good shots into the first couple of holes and I missed the putts, I missed my putts.”

“I felt like I was really solid, like my iron play was really solid. And if I missed my drives, it was sort of just on the first cut or maybe just in the rough.”

“So I thought I striked the ball really well today. I gave myself a lot of opportunities for birdie.”

Anna Nordqvist, Kelly Tan and Brittany Lang all share fifth place at -4 under par.

Brittany was OK once she figured out what she needed to do;

“Everything changed a little bit tournament time, with nerves and adrenaline a little bit. And I wasn’t hitting them as solid.”

“I just knew if I dropped that left foot back, it’s a simple fix, it gives me more room and I automatically start hitting them really pure.”

World number one Lydia Ko started with +1 over par 73, while number two Brooke Henderson  carded a first round +4 over 76.

Leave a Reply

