The Open. Its Phil The Thrill By Three.

White Dragon GolfThe Open

 

Its Phil, The Thrill, Mickleson leading by three shots after the first round of 145th The Open, at Royal Troon.

The Open

Phil Mickelson / getty images

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Phil equaled the course record of -8 under par 63 to grab the lead in the 145th The Open at Royal Troon in Scotland and was a cats whisker away from a record braking 62, but the putt lipped out;

“That putt on 18 was an opportunity to do something historical.”
“I knew it and with a foot to go I thought I had done it. I saw that ball rolling right in the centre.”
“It was one of the best rounds I’ve ever played and I was able to take advantage of these conditions and yet I want to shed a tear right now.”
“I went to go get it, I had that surge of adrenaline that I had just shot 62 and then I had the heartbreak that I didn’t and watched that ball lip out. It was, wow, that stings.”

“It really stings to have a chance. It’s such a rare opportunity to do something historic like that. If I had just hit a weak flail-off and never had a chance and left it short, so be it. “

“But this ball was hunting right in the centre and didn’t go. It was just heartbreaking.”
Patrick Reed and Martin Kaymer share second place, those three shots back at -5 under par, after their opening rounds of 66.
Søren Kjeldsen,  Andy Sullivan were then in the group at -4 under par, alongside defending champion Zach Johnson.
Justin Rose, Soomin Lee, Sergio Garcia, Henrik Stenson, Rafa Cabrera Bello, Richard Sterne and Thomas Pieters are a shot further back.

World Number Four Rory McIlroy was -2 under, Jordan Spieth is at even par, with World number one Jason Day at +2 over for his first round,

The weather tomorrow is suspect, so anything could happen, lady luck will play her part no doubt.

2 thoughts on “The Open. Its Phil The Thrill By Three.

Leave a Reply

