The Open. Henrik Stenson is the Champion Golfer of the Year,

 

White Dragon GolfThe Open

 

Henrik Stenson has been crowned Champion Golfer of the Year at the 145th The Open, at Royal Troon.

The Open

Henrik, Champion Golfer of the Year / getty

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Henrik carded a stunning last round -8 under par 63 to win The Open at Royal Troon, with record low score of -20 under par for the championship, his Major win;

“I felt like it was my time. You can’t guarantee it by any means and I had to play some great golf to get there but I believed in myself and did a great job out there.”
“I”m delighted, but it hasn’t sunk in yet.”
“When you’re fighting as hard as I have done out there today and against Phil for a number of days now, it’s just relief when you’re coming off the 18th and you know it’s done.”
“I know I need to play at my very best and I’m just so happy I managed to do that and get over the finish line”.

“You feel the pressure. As a Swede we’ve had a couple of close calls over the years. There’s been many before that tried and I’m just delighted that I made it for Sweden and all the other guys that tried in past years.”

“It’s a sweet moment.”

Phil finished second again, but a final round  -6 under par 65, would have won the tournament on any other day with a -17 under par total;

” It”s probably the best I’ve played and not won,.

“That’s probably why it’s disappointing in that I don’t have a point where I can look back and say, ‘I should have done that’ or ‘Had I only done this.””I played a bogey-free round of 65 on the final round of a major. Usually that’s good enough to do it. And I got beat. I got beat by 10 birdies.”

“It’s disappointing to come in second, but I’m happy for Henrik.”

“I’ve always thought that he is one of the best ball strikers in the game and that major championships are perfectly suited for him.

” I knew that he would ultimately come through and win. I’m happy that he did. I’m disappointed that it was at my expense.”

Third place went to a distant J.B. Holmes, at -6 under par.

The best of the  top four players in the world was # 4 Rory McIlroy, T5 at -4 under par.

One thought on “The Open. Henrik Stenson is the Champion Golfer of the Year,

Leave a Reply

